Think Anesthesia®: Optimizing Anesthetic Recoveries

To access Think Anesthesia content Login or Sign up first ... it's free.

Join the Think Anesthesia® live, interactive webinar, Optimizing Anesthetic Recoveries, presented by Dr. Karen Kerr, BA, BVSc (Hons), MANZCVS on Friday, June 18 at 10:00 a.m. PT | 12 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. ET.

Anesthetic recoveries are ideally smooth and rapid, with patients regaining consciousness and ambulation, and maintaining physiological homeostasis. In reality, the recovery period is associated with a high rate of complications. This session will outline how the preceding phases of anesthesia affect recovery quality, with guidelines for mitigating the risk of, recognizing, and managing rough and prolonged recoveries.

Management of the recovery period will be discussed, with a focus on achieving smooth emergence from anesthesia. Common causes of rough recoveries include emergence delirium, pain and dysphoria, each of which will be discussed, with filmed examples, risk factors, identifying characteristics, and approaches to treatment. Prolonged recoveries are also common, and their causes and treatments will be covered.

Upon completion of the course, participants will be familiar with aspects of the anesthetic plan that affect the recovery period, and recommended approaches to managing rough and prolonged recoveries.

This presentation is RACE approved for 1 CE credit for both veterinarians and technicians.

Following the live presentation, an on-demand version of this webinar will be available at www.thinkanesthesia.education/on-demand.